Saturday, March 10 | 8pm                          
GMU Center for the Arts Concert Hall
Christopher Zimmerman, conductor
Fairfax Choral Society and the Music & Arts Chorus


Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2
                  Ilya Kaler, violin

Mozart: Requiem
                  Danielle Talamantes, soprano               
                  Alexandra Christoforakis, mezzo-soprano
                  William Hite, tenor
                  Kerry Wilkerson, baritone

Prokofiev composed his bittersweet and soaring Violin Concerto No. 2 in 1935, as he was returning to Russia after decades in the West. The work is said to reflect Prokofiev’s nomadic concert-tour life – with the main theme composed in Paris, the 2nd movement in Voronezh, the orchestration in Baku and the premiere in Madrid.  Hear this classic played by the contemporary violin master Ilya Kaler, past Gold Medal winner of the world’s most prestigious international violin competitions including the Tchaikovsky competition in Moscow and the Sibelius Competition in Helsinki.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s sublime Requiem needs no introduction to music lovers everywhere. Its manifold beauties have inspired performers and listeners alike for more than two centuries, while intriguing audiences with its mysterious history and unfinished score.