“The intense conviction she communicates is so arresting that hearing her rendition of a piece makes it impossible to imagine it performed any other way.”
— The Paris Review

Connections Through Time

Saturday, April 21 | 8pm                          
GMU Center for the Arts Concert Hall
Christopher Zimmerman, conductor

Bach: Keyboard Concerto in G minor, BWV 1058

Glass: Piano Concerto No. 3 (Regional Premiere)
                  Simone Dinnerstein, piano

Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis

Elgar: Introduction and Allegro for Strings

Simone Dinnerstein returns to perform the regional premiere of a new concerto written for her by renowned composer Philip Glass.  " I have been a fan of Glass since my teens. In fact, his music drama "The Photographer" was the first live event I attended without an adult, and I have always associated his music with coming of age” says Dinnerstein.  “There are almost no concertos written for piano and strings since Bach's time. Both Glass and I have a strong interest in Bach and how his music impacts us today. The pairing of the Bach concerto with his own composition will create myriad strands of connectivity enabling the listener to create bridges between the old and new."

Join the Washington Post's Stephen Brookes, Music Director Christopher Zimmerman and Simone Dinnerstein for a pre-concert discussion at 7pm.


Official Hotel Sponsor of the FSO