Inspiring the Next Generation

Saturday, April 29, 8pm                          
GMU Center for the Arts Concert Hall
Christopher Zimmerman, conductor
with members of the American Youth Philharmonic Orchestras

Glinka: Russlan and Ludmilla Overture
Beethoven: Violin Concerto
                 In Mo Yang, violin                  
Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade 

Originally founded by the Fairfax Symphony in 1964, the American Youth Philharmonic Orchestras (AYPO) has become one of the leading orchestral training programs in the nation. Our shared music director Christopher Zimmerman, leads members of the AYPO in this extraordinary opportunity for these young musicians to perform alongside the Fairfax Symphony.

Hailed as “one of the new generation’s most talented young string virtuosi” (The Violin Channel), Korean violinist In Mo Yang is the First Prize Winner of the 2014 Concert Artists Guild Competition.  Most recently, he earned First Prize at the 54th International Violin Competition “Premio Paganini” – the only First Prize awarded by the competition’s jury in nearly a decade.